About Us

Our Mission

Is to support survivors of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking through advocacy, counseling, and shelter services in a space designed for healing and hope.


The Rape & Abuse Crisis Service will be the premier resource for Central Missouri affecting community change in response to interpersonal violence so that all women, men, and children are able to live free and without fear in communities that support and strengthen safety and justice for all.

Our History

RACS was founded in 1980 by volunteers who saw the need for survivors of Domestic Violence and Sexual assault. These innovative women started a 24/7 hotline. RACS became a certified nonprofit in 1981. In 1982 RACS opened the first DV shelter and became a United Way partner Agency. A Volunteer Coordinator was hired as the first paid staff member. Leila Reynolds became RACS’s first Executive Director in 1983. RACS purchased the first building in 1984 to act as the first RACS shelter. In 1997, RACS raised in excess of $1.5 million ($550,000 from Mo Dept. of Public Safety), for the construction of a new shelter to house 40 clients.

The shelter was completed in 1999, the shelter has 9 suites, which can house a total of 42 guests. RACS is currently in its 42nd year of serving survivors in Mid-Missouri. RACS continues to improve the services being provided, free of charge to residents and clients. In 2020, Angela Hirsch joined the RACS team as the current Executive Director.

See The Impact RACS Has

Our Strategic Plan

The RACS strategic plan is a 4-year plan, and was implemented in 2021 and runs until 2025. The plan’s purpose is to help the organization continue to grow and provide more success stories of healing and hope. The next four years will bring new programs for survivors, raise awareness, new funding opportunities, build partnerships, and RACS will become more established in its eight outer counties.


RACS Board of Directors

Kelly Twyman


Executive Committee, Chair

Zakiya Brown

Vice Chair

Executive Committee, Planning & Oversight Committee, Chair

Caroline Ward


Executive Committee

Morgan Fechtel


Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Chair

Janice Driskill


Executive Committee, Planning & Oversight

Arvids V. Petersons


Awareness Committee, Planning & Oversight Committee

Mindy Kremer


Finance Committee

Deborah Word


Nominating & Personnel Committee

Kaitlin Mallow


Fundraising Committee, Chair Nominating & Personnel Committee

Laura F. St. Clair


Awareness Committee, Fundraising Committee

Angel Geiser


Nominating & Personnel Committee, Chair Awareness Committee

Amanda Grellner


Awareness Committee, Planning & Oversight

Deanna Nilges


Awareness Committee

Jessica Klebba


Finance & Audit Committee

Lindsey Evers


Finance & Audit Committtee

Randy Werner


Building & Maintenance Committee, Chair

Zach Paul


Building & Maintenance Committee, Real Estate

Martin Reid


Finance Committee, Awareness Committee

Dawnel Davidson


Planning & Oversight

Deputy Shannon Fannon


Awareness Committee

Sheriff John Wheeler

Ex Officio

Building & Maintenance

Emily Fretwell

Immediate Past Chair/Ex Officio

Executive Commitee

Captain Deric Heislen

Ex Officio